top of page
  • Writer's pictureGastropoda

Campfire Food by Sarah R. New


If reincarnation is real, I want to come back as campfire food. 


A jacket potato, baked in foil. Rolled out of the bonfire with a large stick. Slathered in butter, drenched in chili, topped with cheese and sour cream. 


And then I’d be a s’more, but not the traditional kind. I’d be the type of store we’d make in the girl guides, a marshmallow toasted over the fire, then quickly sandwiched between two chocolate digestives. It isn’t the same without the fiery char. 


If I come back, I want to be comfort food. I want to warm people's insides, soothe them when they hurt. I want to lift their spirits, make them feel better. I want to help. 


If reincarnation is real, I want to be comfort food.


 

Sarah R. New (she/her) is in her late 20s, but has been writing since the age of 6. After graduating from university with a BA in Film Studies, she dabbled in screenwriting before returning to fiction writing. Sarah loves to cook and bake, spends most of her time with her cats and is an avid traveller who has visited four continents. Her travel memoir, The Great European Escape: The Trials and Tribulations of Travelling While Chronically Ill, is available for free from https://sarahrnew.wordpress.com/.

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page