top of page
  • Writer's pictureGastropoda

[I've always lived by water] by Sharmila Voorakkara & Ron Riekki


I’ve always lived by water

so that means there’s always been

an exit. The promise of distance

slipped under my skin, so I can barely stand.


How do I tell my ten-year-old self

to run? Or how not to love

the dark

places I ran

like water

to lose myself


every shoreline is broken in the shape of what

is taken.








 


Sharmila Voorakkara received her MFA from the University of Virginia. Her first collection of poems, Fire Wheel, was published by the University of Akron Press.


Ron Riekki’s books include My Ancestors are Reindeer Herders and I Am Melting in Extinction (Loyola University Maryland’s Apprentice House Press), Posttraumatic (Hoot ‘n’ Waddle), and U.P. (Ghost Road Press). Right now, he's listening to Loma's "Relay Runner."

47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page