top of page
  • Writer's pictureGastropoda

Lifting Up the Log #8: Treachery by MJ Malleck


  1. How did you come up with the title? I was thinking about an unreliable narrator and all the stories I tell my kids about when they were babies. And what I heard too. And how babies are privy to so much because everyone thinks they won’t remember. And thinking about the baby Stewie from The Family Guy.

  2. What can you tell us about the inception of this piece? It was from a prompt in a workshop. If you could change one thing. I imagined changing everything at the start of a life.

  3. If we could lift up the log of this piece, what would we see there?  Admitting the story was fiction allowed me to feel the feelings. Use a more confident voice. And gave me the title.

  4. If this piece were a small forest creature, what kind of small forest creature would it be? Why? Fisher. In Ontario used to be expensive fur. Brave enough to attack porcupines head on.



Read "Treachery" in its entirety here.





Lifting Up the Log is an ongoing series designed to indulge our love for the story behind the story, as well as to give our beloved contributors an additional way to showcase the writing they have shared here.

57 views0 comments

©2021 by Gastropoda. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page