top of page
  • Writer's pictureGastropoda

Things You Own by Maggie Hart


I meet a man obsessed with bones. He runs impatient fingertips over my ribcage & grabs my hip bones & kisses my teeth instead of my lips, uninterested in my soft parts entirely, favoring instead everything pokey & sharp. I wonder if I have anything soft left, or if you took that with you, if I’ve been hardening since we parted, like bread growing stale & clay in the kiln. Nothing malleable left, nothing that gives & nothing left to give.


There are things you own, like “baby” & brussels sprouts & sunbeams & bells. Like the purple glow of Taco Bell & wedding bells & church bells, ringing every hour in the foreign cities I live in now, summoning worshippers, believers in something. You do not own bones.


I’ve been so cold since I saw you last, though I huddle by fires & redden my skin in showers. Guillermo & I share bedrooms on a trip in southern Bolivia, so our honeymooning companions can have their giggly privacy, & we share a bed too, after he notices my trembling, even in three layers of leggings & my coziest (my only) sweater, & I think he imagines I am someone else, something about the way he sighs, like he is remembering someone far away, someone he held like he holds me now, shaking against his soft belly, & we never mention it in the daylight, how we were wrapped around each other & trusted one another in the dark, & how my teeth still chattered in sleep & do you ever sigh like him, when you are holding someone who isn’t me?


Even the sun cannot reach my bones these days (I meet a man obsessed with bones), though she tries, she just rests atop my skin, & she’s a sip of whiskey, a taste of what warmth is like, & I cannot stop myself, I think of you before the chill returns.


 

Maggie Hart is a writer, traveler, retired bartender, and cancer survivor based in Colorado. She is a graduate of Coe College in Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Previous publications include The Audacity, Cold Mountain Review, Glass Mountain, and Little Village Magazine.


158 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page