top of page
  • Writer's pictureGastropoda

Three Poems by Kate Strong Stadt

Updated: Jun 18, 2022

versus/verse


endings / beginnings / no things / all things / losing weight / losing mass / losing being / finding your feet / finding the floor / finding the ground / finding yourself / coastal shelf / shore line / silver mine / silver tone / gold tone / one at a time / two in one / right one / wrong one / wronged one / rung on rung / right rhyme / right time / right way / u-turn / you turn / you / youth / death / breadth / wealth / dearth / worth / clear as a bell / clear sight / clear skies / clear eyes / in your eyes / in my eyes / yes / say yes



glossolalia of this unbeliever


I am doing it I

am, yes, I am,

this way - it is this

way as it is always -

for all and for and

for me too, but for

me is my own, but for me

is happening, yes is

as it always is. as

if I am doing it. I, if

I am I am if I am I am



I. (i.)


I.

The flat taut cloth of undyed woolen winter unravels at its edges into tangled birdsong - dipped April blue - yes, knots and whorls, yes - such ecstatic devotionals as are such marigolds, such odorous o-daylilies!


i.

(vs interior

soil at-heave

throwing clods,

unburying my

worms, my

dirtiest dirty

roots and

then - past -)




 


Kate Strong Stadt is a former children’s librarian turned knowledge worker. Recently, her poems have been published in Iron Horse Review, The Collidescope, and Sparked Literary Magazine. Her latest obsession is blacksmithing.



80 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page